top of page

Felt Brooch workshop as part of BBC Get Creative in York


This weekend, four York Libraries have been taking part in the National ‘BBC Get Creative project’. It’s a great initiative and I was very happy to be asked to lead a workshop as part of it. Of course I opted for a textiles based session; Felt Brooches. From 2.00pm to 5.00pm on Friday 7th April

I worked with a variety of lovely folk in Fulford Library, helping each of them to choose which brooch they wanted to make, select their colours and then sew their creations.

I had 14 finished brooches on display for people to choose from and a template for each brooch that could be drawn around, cut out and sewn.

There was a great range of ages and abilities present throughout the afternoon, so the style and detail of the various brooches made was very different, which is always lovely to see.

Across the afternoon over 20 brooches were made, each one having been carefully worked on, finished and secured to the brooch back. They were all gorgeous and a fantastic number were proudly worn out of the library by their creators.

To find out more about other events and activities taking place across York’s Libraries, click here.

To find out more about BBC Get Creative, click here.

I send out updates, news and details of upcoming exhibitions every two or three months. I won't bombard you, but I'll keep you posted on what I'm getting up to.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page