top of page

Silk Painted Christmas Cards

This weekend’s a workshop double whammy, after a fab candle making session yesterday, it’s a silk painting workshop today.

I run silk painting in the gorgeous wee craft shop on Gillygate, The York Makery. My eight booked ladies turned up nice and early and we got started on some festive silk painting, with everyone choosing or in some cases designing their four scenes for the fronts of their Christmas cards. Starting with the gutta outlines we then moved on to using the colourful dyes to paint the patterns onto the silk, finishing with some sprinkles of salt in places to make the colours fracture and swirl.

Everyone’s silks looked beautiful, there were lovely designs created and several people came with designs already sketched out or one phones to work from which I always like.

I couldn’t quite get a few of the silks dry in time (even with the hair dryers going) so the last three had to be sent out a few days later in the post, but it did mean that I had an extra opportunity to photograph them. Such lovely work!

It was another really fun group with fab ideas and creativity. I hope that they all enjoyed the session and that the recipients of their lovely cards appreciate them!

My next silk painting workshop will be in March 2017, click here to find out more.

If you'd like to see my full list of upcoming workshops, they can be seen by clicking here.

I send out updates, news and details of upcoming exhibitions every two or three months. I won't bombard you, but I'll keep you posted on what I'm getting up to.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page